Quaint is delicious

Sleek restaurants with fancy decor and overpriced food organized in geometric shapes (one is afraid to even touch, let alone eat) have never attracted me. Their model-like waiters (and often visitors) make me feel foreign and unwelcome.

Instead, I have always loved discovering cute little holes in the wall where you can enjoy a simple but well made meal, a pleasant atmosphere and sometimes even have a chat with the owner (not too much though, I only enjoy people in small dosages).

I discovered this cute restaurant store front on a crazy 2-day gallop in Italy in the small posh coastal town called Santa Margherita Ligure, about an hour train ride from Genoa. I may have watched too many Woody Allen movies, but Santa Margherita quaint streets felt to me like a perfect place to stage another Vicky Cristina Barcelona or Midnight in Paris(or:  To Rome with Love :)).

Trattoria "da PINO"

Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy

 

Leave a Reply

